.

Briarcliff Statement on HB 665 Cityhood Map

Rep. Mary Margaret Oliver (HD-82) will present an updated Briarcliff map to the Georgia Legislature that includes deferment to published annexations of existing cities.
Rep. Mary Margaret Oliver (HD-82) will present an updated Briarcliff map to the Georgia Legislature that includes deferment to published annexations of existing cities.
Here is a 2/20 statement from Briarcliff. http://www.prlog.org/12285345-briarcliff-statement-on-hb-665-cityhood-map.html

Atlanta, GA, February 20, 2014 -- The City of Briarcliff Initiative announces the release of an updated version of the Briarcliff map. “February 2014 Draft” is available on Briarcliff’s Facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/briarcliffga and shows hand drawn lines. Rep. Mary Margaret Oliver (HD-82) will present a formal version of this map to the Legislature. Briarcliff has chosen to defer to the published annexation plans of existing cities, in keeping with the city’s core belief that everyone should have a chance to vote on whether they want to be in a city.
 
The changes to Briarcliff’s map occurs where the proposed City of Briarcliff approaches the existing cities of Decatur, Avondale Estates and Clarkston, each of which have published annexation plans that include unincorporated areas of DeKalb County that also overlapped previous Briarcliff previous maps.  The leaders of those cities, legislators representing those cities, and the DeKalb Municipal Association requested that Briarcliff’s proposal not overlap with those plans.  After careful deliberation, the Executive Board of the City of Briarcliff Initiative voted to defer to the announced plans of those cities.

Rep. Mary Margaret Oliver comments, “We're making progress. More people are working together. We have opportunities this session to reach an agreement with our neighbors and move forward.”

“We believe that strong cities, both existing and new, are in the best interest of the residents and of DeKalb County as a whole. As many residents of unincorporated DeKalb as possible should be given the opportunity to vote on cityhood, either in a new city referendum or in an annexation vote,” says Allen Venet, President of City of Briarcliff Initiative. “The legislative process remains very fluid, and residents of the affected neighborhoods should continue to express their preferences to their local city and state legislators.  We want to be good neighbors; we offer to those cites the opportunity to have referendums in those areas for potential annexations.  In the future, any neighborhood voting against annexation to those cities or otherwise declining to be annexed might be annexed into a City of Briarcliff, if that is their choice.  Briarcliff’s Board recognizes that we have many supporters in the areas in within the annexation plans, and we wish to express our sincere appreciation for their support.”

Within “February 2014 Draft” map the updated green border reflects what the revised City of Briarcliff proposal looks like. Briarcliff still includes all of the Medlock, Mason Mill, and Druid Hills neighborhoods as well as Emory University and the CDC. Interstate I-85 and I-285 remain consistent boundaries and are unchanged. Druid Hills and Lakeside high schools and their middle schools remain in the proposed city.
 
Briarcliff remains the city with the best integrity in its community boundary and its economic base. The cityhood group is confident it will be reflected in its government -- if citizens are given the chance by the Legislature.

Breaking news and other cityhood updates can be found on Briarcliff’s Facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/briarcliffga.

About City of Briarcliff Initiative:
The City of Briarcliff Initiative, Inc. is a non-profit corporation chartered under the laws of the state of Georgia. The group seeks to enable residents to form a new city government in central DeKalb County that would serve all people within the community and promote the health, welfare, and safety of the general public.

Media Contact:
Keith Hanks
City of Briarcliff Initiative, Inc.
RandyRand February 25, 2014 at 03:06 PM
TWSYF, is very afraid of the Truth? The Truth is that those voting on a Lakeside will be the decision makers, Should they vote for cityhood, those same voters will electing their leaders. That freedom to decide is exactly how people become decision makers. Why is it that Truthwillsetyoufree is SO afraid of the Truth that will actually set us free?
TruthWillSetYouFree February 25, 2014 at 03:24 PM
The Truth is Fran Millar does not represent this community. I have no problem letting a vote for cityhood happen but let the map we vote on be one that our actual elected representatives approve. Not something some Jackass who lives in Dunwoody came up with. Right now there is no one we can hold accountable for whatever happens.
RandyRand February 25, 2014 at 03:29 PM
Cheryl, Many of us view the Dekalb Delegation the same way sane passengers view the anchors on a sinking boat! You go ahead and mind those anchors Cheryl, the cityhood lifeboat is where we are headed!
Tom Doolittle February 25, 2014 at 03:38 PM
Randy--should have mentioned your source. I get Bill Simon's e-mails. He's a libertarian (small "l") Republican--and deservedly a pain in the leadership's side. Anyway--I also received a note from within the community about this. Simon is probably correct about one power broker over there being obstructionist, altho she has served Elaine Boyer (and presumably Republicans), attends Republican meetings at Embry Hills. Dude --the entire power structure (Reps and Dems backed Burrell Ellis--a fact that people have forgotten to mention in the Ellis flap--THEY ALSO backed Vernon Jones!!!) The other two are serious about Tucker cityhood. Its a close call whether they are representing a mostly Republican group and "city" vs their own voting record--altho I personally would find a way to make that clear. This is way more complex than can be put in a short note from Bill Simon--and shouldn't be represented as simple by anyone here.
Jim Tackett February 25, 2014 at 03:40 PM
Randy, if you, Mary Kay, Levitas, Jacobs or Fran Miller truly cared about "Freedom," you guys wouldn't dare to publicly advocate or associate your name with an Initiative that, by design, denies half the residents of North Decatur and Tucker the civic right to vote. On an issue that permanently affects their neighborhood and property values. I honestly don't know how you sleep at night. Even if you are a politician or have an agenda..how does one have that little concern for others.
Tom Doolittle February 25, 2014 at 03:41 PM
Heres' the Simon link: http://secure.campaigner.com/Campaigner/Public/t.show?6db0k--3g0t2-cem3135&_v=2
Dawn Forman February 25, 2014 at 05:38 PM
Truth is right. Millar only cares if you can vote for him. When he came out of the Senate Chambers yesterday he only wanted to know where we lived and had no freaking clue what we were talking about. But he's pushing this city!!!!! Millar should not be making this city, it should be the people who actually represent the areas affected.
TruthWillSetYouFree February 25, 2014 at 06:01 PM
Right there is an example of why something is fishy with Lakeside. George Randolph would probably be pitching a fit if the roles were reversed and some Democratic legislator was trying to take the area his home is in and stick it in Doraville. Anyone have any solid news on whats going on? Lakeside is planning some sort of party next week at sprig. Herman Lorenz hasn't posted in a long time, his Cobi sign now gone and keith has gone silent as well. The only thing i saw from COBI was some map and bill were coming. Isn't it a little late in the game to introduce the COBI bill? Whats taking so long at this point?
Longerthanu February 25, 2014 at 06:20 PM
It's a fund-raiser, Truth.
RandyRand February 25, 2014 at 06:21 PM
Regardless of source Tom, and obvously there is a source, are you suggesting that these rumored Tucker leadership actions, if true, are not Sleazy?
Tom Doolittle February 25, 2014 at 06:52 PM
I was only saying cite your source as in provide a link so people can access it. Common web practice when you quote something. What the heck is that? As to the rest of your message, I have no idea what you're saying.
RandyRand February 25, 2014 at 07:05 PM
J Tacket, Those outside 285 who want to be part of Lakeside, I care about them! Other who want to be in our eventual city, I care about them! What I don’t care about is those who have unfounded beliefs that I in supporting LCA am taking anything away from them. I don’t care about those who somehow believe that because LCA did it’s foundational political homework, from the beginning, that the LCA efforts should be handicapped in some weirdly contrived “democrat fair way”! We all knew the rules going in, then the Dekalb Coalition and COBI sponsor tried to change the rules! Sorry but that’s Dekalb politics as usual and thus: I don’t care about those who want to continue to cling to “Defective Dekalb” for whatever reason! The LCA effort takes nothing but control away from those who have proven ineffective in managing our concerns, our priorities, it does not break up communities, it does not steal schools or parks, it simply offers the ability for local choices! And with those modest objectives in mind, I sleep well, very well!
RandyRand February 25, 2014 at 07:17 PM
Got it Tom, sorry the link did not carry through on this post, it did on the others posts I believe. So thanks for posting it!
Dawn Forman February 25, 2014 at 08:07 PM
Wonder if these fundraisers are the 70 community meetings Millar has told the committee that Lakeside has had. Hint Lakeside City People, a fundraiser doesn't equate a meeting.
RandyRand February 25, 2014 at 08:25 PM
Hint Dawn, every Sunday/Saturday when we all go to church/synagogue, it’s a service/meeting/fundraiser! Multiple goals can be accomplished in the same event, without issue, in well aligned communities!
Longerthanu February 25, 2014 at 08:26 PM
Duh, Dawn. People aren't that stupid. Lakeside has been upfront about fund-raisers vs informational meetings. I'm on the email lists for all of the groups. You'd be better informed of you were on them, too.
Dawn Forman February 25, 2014 at 08:44 PM
I was told yesterday that Millar is telling the senators that they have had 70 community meetings. I'm pretty active and my home has always been a part of the proposed City of Lakeside and no one has stretched a hand out to my community. Sorry I don't believe that there have been 70 meetings that have been advertised and open to all and community fundraisers don't count for a community meeting.
Longerthanu February 25, 2014 at 09:14 PM
They've had a ton, I know from the emails and online notices I've received-- far more than COBI. Perhaps you are not as looped in as you think. It's not like they're calling people.
Dawn Forman February 25, 2014 at 09:42 PM
Haven't had any with my neighborhood and we've always been part of the cityhood map. Haven't reached out to answer questions or even make us feel welcome. If you want someone to be on your side, you seek them out. Lakeside isn't so special that people need to follow them. They are asking for us to get on board, not the other way around.
Tom Doolittle February 25, 2014 at 09:45 PM
OK Randy thanks--Another link: http://www.peachpundit.com/2014/02/25/city-of-lakeside-vs-city-of-tucker-the-battle/ Cool we're getting all of this attention
Longerthanu February 25, 2014 at 09:56 PM
They haven't had any IN my neighborhood, either, Dawn. But they've had several nearby. Briarcliff had some nearby, too. Neither group reached out to me. I learned about their meetings by following the issue online and being on email lists. I suspect it's not easy to seek out people who aren't paying attention.
Dawn Forman February 25, 2014 at 09:59 PM
No they have met with neighborhoods. It's why they couldn't show up at the DeKalb Delegation Meeting in January and had Millar talk for them. I have been paying attention. Even COBI, posted meetings on our neighborhood yahoo group. They reached out.
Brett February 25, 2014 at 10:02 PM
Same here Dawn. I'm in the heart of the map and no one reached out to me or any of the neighbors I know either. I also learned of the issue on-line and I'm on a couple Email lists. You seem to be suggesting there's some kind of conspiracy (and you're not in on it) but I don't believe that's the case.
Brett February 25, 2014 at 10:05 PM
Tom - thanks for your answer to my questions related to your background. I greatly appreciate your input here, and remain hopeful resolutions will come to pass that benefit our neighborhood as well as the county as a whole.
Dawn Forman February 25, 2014 at 10:12 PM
I don't think there is a conspiracy. I am no several email lists and have known about fundraisers for Lakeside but not meetings. I'm not interested in helping to raise funds for a cause that I don't understand. I am saying that if Lakeside really wanted to show people that they weren't all about them, than they'd come to all neighborhoods and talk to them. Have them explain their position, why they want cityhood, be decent to people who call and ask questions, and not use words that show that they think they are better than some areas of the county over others. You wouldn't need a senator to talk for you, if you had a sound plan and reached out to people in way that showed that you had everyone's interest at hand.
Brett February 25, 2014 at 10:32 PM
Dawn - if I understand you correctly you're upset because they haven't come to your neighborhood. You do realize they can't physically go to every neighborhood don't you? That's why their meetings have been well publicized - so interested people could come together as a collective. There have been multiple opportunities for you and anyone else interested to do so, and they were announced through Emails. Regardless of your views on Lakeside it's unfair to castigate them for not holding plenty of meetings you could have attended just because you somehow didn't know about them.
Dawn Forman February 25, 2014 at 10:41 PM
I'm not mad about not having meetings. I'm mad and don't support because they are not nice when you call to ask questions. Not one person I know has had a nice dealing with them. They simply want answers to their questions, not canned lawyer answers but truth, and they won't do it. Millar wants me to support his bill, but he doesn't even know where I live or want to hear why I don't want the city in my neighborhood. You see I'm angry that arrogant people want to be in charge of a city and I don't see how that is any different than what we already have in DeKalb. You see I know what I have in DeKalb and can imagine what life will be like in a city of lakeside with the little dealings I've had and it's not going to be pretty. Just my opinion which I am entitled to.
Tom Doolittle February 25, 2014 at 11:03 PM
We can blame "people" for not "paying attention"--I suppose that's OK--we're not responsible for the community. However, I doubt anyone responsible for getting "yes" votes will take that risk--or shouldn't anyway. Fact is, we should have a pretty good idea about how many people have "paid attention"--and if we don't we ought to listen to the reasons why. If not, they may "not pay attention" all the way to the pools and vote "no".
Keith Hanks February 25, 2014 at 11:23 PM
@Tom you might have gotten your wish for "Northlake"
Keith Hanks February 25, 2014 at 11:23 PM
New Posting... "Rumor: Tucker & Lakeside to Combine?" Posted to both North Druid Hills / Briarcliff Patch and Tucker Patch >> View the duplicate posting on North Druid Hills / Briarcliff Patch... http://northdruidhills.patch.com/groups/opinion/p/rumor-tucker--lakeside-to-combine >> http://tucker.patch.com/groups/opinion/p/rumor-tucker--lakeside-to-combine_5e5fa083

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »