.

Briarcliff Statement on HB 665 Cityhood Map

Rep. Mary Margaret Oliver (HD-82) will present an updated Briarcliff map to the Georgia Legislature that includes deferment to published annexations of existing cities.
Rep. Mary Margaret Oliver (HD-82) will present an updated Briarcliff map to the Georgia Legislature that includes deferment to published annexations of existing cities.
Here is a 2/20 statement from Briarcliff. http://www.prlog.org/12285345-briarcliff-statement-on-hb-665-cityhood-map.html

Atlanta, GA, February 20, 2014 -- The City of Briarcliff Initiative announces the release of an updated version of the Briarcliff map. “February 2014 Draft” is available on Briarcliff’s Facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/briarcliffga and shows hand drawn lines. Rep. Mary Margaret Oliver (HD-82) will present a formal version of this map to the Legislature. Briarcliff has chosen to defer to the published annexation plans of existing cities, in keeping with the city’s core belief that everyone should have a chance to vote on whether they want to be in a city.
 
The changes to Briarcliff’s map occurs where the proposed City of Briarcliff approaches the existing cities of Decatur, Avondale Estates and Clarkston, each of which have published annexation plans that include unincorporated areas of DeKalb County that also overlapped previous Briarcliff previous maps.  The leaders of those cities, legislators representing those cities, and the DeKalb Municipal Association requested that Briarcliff’s proposal not overlap with those plans.  After careful deliberation, the Executive Board of the City of Briarcliff Initiative voted to defer to the announced plans of those cities.

Rep. Mary Margaret Oliver comments, “We're making progress. More people are working together. We have opportunities this session to reach an agreement with our neighbors and move forward.”

“We believe that strong cities, both existing and new, are in the best interest of the residents and of DeKalb County as a whole. As many residents of unincorporated DeKalb as possible should be given the opportunity to vote on cityhood, either in a new city referendum or in an annexation vote,” says Allen Venet, President of City of Briarcliff Initiative. “The legislative process remains very fluid, and residents of the affected neighborhoods should continue to express their preferences to their local city and state legislators.  We want to be good neighbors; we offer to those cites the opportunity to have referendums in those areas for potential annexations.  In the future, any neighborhood voting against annexation to those cities or otherwise declining to be annexed might be annexed into a City of Briarcliff, if that is their choice.  Briarcliff’s Board recognizes that we have many supporters in the areas in within the annexation plans, and we wish to express our sincere appreciation for their support.”

Within “February 2014 Draft” map the updated green border reflects what the revised City of Briarcliff proposal looks like. Briarcliff still includes all of the Medlock, Mason Mill, and Druid Hills neighborhoods as well as Emory University and the CDC. Interstate I-85 and I-285 remain consistent boundaries and are unchanged. Druid Hills and Lakeside high schools and their middle schools remain in the proposed city.
 
Briarcliff remains the city with the best integrity in its community boundary and its economic base. The cityhood group is confident it will be reflected in its government -- if citizens are given the chance by the Legislature.

Breaking news and other cityhood updates can be found on Briarcliff’s Facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/briarcliffga.

About City of Briarcliff Initiative:
The City of Briarcliff Initiative, Inc. is a non-profit corporation chartered under the laws of the state of Georgia. The group seeks to enable residents to form a new city government in central DeKalb County that would serve all people within the community and promote the health, welfare, and safety of the general public.

Media Contact:
Keith Hanks
City of Briarcliff Initiative, Inc.
Brett February 25, 2014 at 10:32 PM
Dawn - if I understand you correctly you're upset because they haven't come to your neighborhood. You do realize they can't physically go to every neighborhood don't you? That's why their meetings have been well publicized - so interested people could come together as a collective. There have been multiple opportunities for you and anyone else interested to do so, and they were announced through Emails. Regardless of your views on Lakeside it's unfair to castigate them for not holding plenty of meetings you could have attended just because you somehow didn't know about them.
Dawn Forman February 25, 2014 at 10:41 PM
I'm not mad about not having meetings. I'm mad and don't support because they are not nice when you call to ask questions. Not one person I know has had a nice dealing with them. They simply want answers to their questions, not canned lawyer answers but truth, and they won't do it. Millar wants me to support his bill, but he doesn't even know where I live or want to hear why I don't want the city in my neighborhood. You see I'm angry that arrogant people want to be in charge of a city and I don't see how that is any different than what we already have in DeKalb. You see I know what I have in DeKalb and can imagine what life will be like in a city of lakeside with the little dealings I've had and it's not going to be pretty. Just my opinion which I am entitled to.
Tom Doolittle February 25, 2014 at 11:03 PM
We can blame "people" for not "paying attention"--I suppose that's OK--we're not responsible for the community. However, I doubt anyone responsible for getting "yes" votes will take that risk--or shouldn't anyway. Fact is, we should have a pretty good idea about how many people have "paid attention"--and if we don't we ought to listen to the reasons why. If not, they may "not pay attention" all the way to the pools and vote "no".
Keith Hanks February 25, 2014 at 11:23 PM
@Tom you might have gotten your wish for "Northlake"
Keith Hanks February 25, 2014 at 11:23 PM
New Posting... "Rumor: Tucker & Lakeside to Combine?" Posted to both North Druid Hills / Briarcliff Patch and Tucker Patch >> View the duplicate posting on North Druid Hills / Briarcliff Patch... http://northdruidhills.patch.com/groups/opinion/p/rumor-tucker--lakeside-to-combine >> http://tucker.patch.com/groups/opinion/p/rumor-tucker--lakeside-to-combine_5e5fa083

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »