Boyer to Co-Host Second Legislative Town Hall Meeting

Lawmakers to hear concerns Monday on transportation and redistricting.

Stan Watson (D-Super Dist. 7) and Elaine Boyer (R-Dist. 1) will hold the second of three planned Super District 7 town-hall meetings tonight to discuss redistricting and the proposed Georgia 2020 Transportation Act (HB277).

The meeting has been set for 7pm - 8:30pm at Tucker–Reid H. Cofer Library at 5234 LaVista Rd. Speakers will include state Sens. Steve Henson (D-Dist. 41) and Fran Millar (R-Dist. 40), House Minority Leader Stacey Abrams (D-Dist. 84) and House Rep. Scott Holcomb (D-Dist. 82), and DeKalb County Public Works Director Ted Rhinehart.

“The purpose of these town hall meetings is to inform and educate my constituents of the potential impact that redistricting and the transportation reinvestment act may have. These are some very critical topics that have the power to change this county. Because of this, I will make it a priority to bring the experts with the information to citizens that I have been elected to serve,” Watson said in a statement.

Henson is a member of the Senate Reapportionment Committee. Millar is a member of the joint Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Overview Committee.

The final Town Hall meeting will be co-hosted with Watson and the DeKalb Legislative Community Cabinet on Aug. 29 at 7pm at the Salem-Panola Road Library. Watson is a former chairman of the DeKalb House Delegation and founder and current member of the DeKalb Legislative Community Cabinet.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »